Distinguished Young Women

Event details

  • April 1, 2021
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • North Middle School Auditorium N88 W16750 Garfield Dr. Menomonee Falls WI 53051

2020 finalists above: Autumn Seeback (2nd Alternate); Veronica Goveas (Distinguished Young Woman of Menomonee Falls); Madisyn Harrison (1st Alternate). Photo by Don Gorzek.

The 2021 program will be postponed at least until April. We are currently working to organize a mostly virtual program.



2020 RECAP

Ten Menomonee Falls High School Juniors participated in the 56th Annual Distinguished Young Women Program on Saturday, February 22, 2020 at the North Middle School Auditorium. The Optimist Club has sponsored and organized the program since 1986. The participants will be attending the Optimist Club meeting on March 4.

Veronica Goveas was named the Distinguished Young Woman of Menomonee Falls for 2021. She will represent Menomonee Falls at the Wisconsin State Program to be held in Franklin, WI this summer. Veronica is the daughter of Mary and Joseph Goveas. She performed an Indian Semi-Classical Dance for her talent. Veronica was also won the Scholastic, Talent, and Self-Expression Awards. She will receive a $2500 scholarship from the Optimist Club.

Madisyn Harrison was named 1st Alternate. She will receive a $1000 scholarship from the Optimist Club and $300 cash award from Community League of Menomonee Falls.  Autumn Seebach was named 2nd Alternate and won the Fitness and Spirit Awards. She receives a $500 scholarship from the Optimist Club. Krithika Senthil won the Interview Award. The Be Your Best Self Essay Award went to Elise Poos. Each category winner will receive a $100 cash award.

Also participating were Alexandra McGovern Sikorski, Sarah Pflughoeft, Hali Becker, Mandeep Kaur, and Sidnee Trimble.

Sarah Pflughoeft, Hali Becker, Mandeep Kaur, Veronica Goveas, Elise Poos, Madisyn Harrison, Sidnee Trimble, Autumn Seebach, Krithika Senthil and Alexandra McGovern Sikorski

photos by Don Gorzek


The Distinguished Young Women Scholarship Program for the Class of 2022 is scheduled for Saturday, March 6, 2021. Due to the situation with Covid we will be unable to hold the live program as we have for the past 56 years. As the situation is constantly changing, the final decision on how much of the judging will be in-person and how much will be virtual won’t be made for a few months. The good news is we already have Junior girls asking about the program. I have promised them that I will do my best to give them the DYW experience other participants had in past years.

The 2021 Wisconsin DYW program is also on hold temporarily. Veronica Goveas, our current representative, is waiting for her chance to compete at state and hopefully nationals next June. Stay tuned for updates.




The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. For more information about Distinguished Young Women contact Cathy Sharkey at 262-844-1538 or visit www.DistinguishedYW.org.

Find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube: www.facebook.com/distinguishedyw


Distinguished Young Women National Site

Distinguished Young Women local site (Menomonee Falls)

Distinguished Young Women Chair: Cathy Sharkey

Distinguished Young Women Co-chair: Meg Latus