Distinguished Young Women

Event details

  • March 7, 2020
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • North Middle School Auditorium N88 W16750 Garfield Dr. Menomonee Falls WI 53051

Above: 2020 Distinguished Young Women finalists (left to right): 1st Alternate Hannah Xiong, DYW Abby Hughes, 2nd Alternate Robyn George. Photo by Don Gorzek.

Six Menomonee Falls High School Juniors participated in the 55th Annual Distinguished Young Women Program on Saturday, February 23, 2019 at the North Middle School Auditorium. The Optimist Club has sponsored and organized the program since 1986. The participants will be attending the Optimist Club meeting on March 6.

Abby HughesugHuhhHu was named the Distinguished Young Woman of Menomonee Falls for 2020. She will represent Menomonee Falls at the Wisconsin State Program to be held in Franklin, WI this summer. Abby is the daughter of Heide and Robert Hughes. She performed “Danny Boy” on the French Horn for her talent. Abby was also named the Fitness and Self-Expression preliminary awards.

Hannah Xiong was named 1st Alternate. She will receive a $750 scholarship from the Optimist Club and $300 cash award from Community League of Menomonee Falls. Hannah was also the winner of the Talent and Scholastic Awards.  Robyn George was named 2nd Alternate and won the Interview, Spirit, and Be Your Best Self Essay Awards. She will receive a $250 scholarship from the Optimist Club. Each category winner will receive a $100 cash award.

Also participating were Kate Feltman, Sydney Holseth, and Kylie Zimdars.





The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. For more information about Distinguished Young Women contact Cathy Sharkey at 262-844-1538 or visit www.DistinguishedYW.org.

Find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube: www.facebook.com/distinguishedyw


Distinguished Young Women National Site

Distinguished Young Women local site (Menomonee Falls)

Distinguished Young Women Chair: Cathy Sharkey

Distinguished Young Women Co-chair: Meg Latus