Distinguished Young Women

Event details

  • February 22, 2020
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • North Middle School Auditorium N88 W16750 Garfield Dr. Menomonee Falls WI 53051

Above: 2020 Distinguished Young Women finalists (left to right): 1st Alternate Hannah Xiong, DYW Abby Hughes, 2nd Alternate Robyn George. Photo by Don Gorzek.

The 56th Annual Distinguished Young Women of Menomonee Falls Scholarship Program will take place Saturday, February 22, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. at North Middle School. Ten girls from the Class of 2021 will be competing for the title of Distinguished Young Woman of Menomonee Falls. Tickets are available at the door for $5.

Contestants at all levels of Distinguished Young Women are judged on scholastics, interview, talent, self-expression and physical fitness. The Optimist Club awards $4600 in scholarships and cash awards to the participants. The winner will go on to represent Menomonee Falls at the state program in August.

Participants for the title are Hali Becker, Veronica Goveas, Madisyn Harrison, Mandeep Kaur, Alexandra McGovern Sikorski, Sarah Pflughoeft, Elise Poos, Autumn Seebach, Krithika Senthil, and Sidnee Trimble.

The girls have been rehearsing since late December. They have participated in practice interviews with Optimist Club members acting as judges. Thank you to Jeanine Dederich, Jenn Dedrick, Cathy Hazzard, and Stevie Mistele-Wildt for judging.

Over the next two weeks girls will be visiting a nursing home to perform their talent, hanging out at an ice cream party with their Little Misses and spending many hours in rehearsal.

Please come out to North on February 22nd to support these very talented young ladies.





The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. For more information about Distinguished Young Women contact Cathy Sharkey at 262-844-1538 or visit www.DistinguishedYW.org.

Find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube: www.facebook.com/distinguishedyw


Distinguished Young Women National Site

Distinguished Young Women local site (Menomonee Falls)

Distinguished Young Women Chair: Cathy Sharkey

Distinguished Young Women Co-chair: Meg Latus