Distinguished Young Women

Event details

  • Saturday | March 9, 2019
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • North Junior High School Auditorium N88 W16750 Garfield Dr. Menomonee Falls WI 53051

2019 Distinguished Young Women finalists
L-R: 2nd Alternate Rohitha Punathil, DYW Kailee Doherty, 1st Alternate Jackie Plantier.
Photo by Don Gorzek

Fifteen Menomonee Falls High School Juniors participated in the 54th Annual Distinguished Young Women Program on Saturday, March 10, 2018 at the North Middle School Auditorium. Distinguished Young Women is a national scholarship program for high school girls. The Optimist Club has sponsored and organized the program since 1986.

Kailee Doherty was named the Distinguished Young Woman of Menomonee Falls for 2019. She will represent Menomonee Falls at the Wisconsin State Program to be held in at the South Milwaukee Performing Arts Center at 3:00pm on Saturday, August 11, 2018. Kailee is the daughter of Linda and Bryan Doherty. She performed a vocal performance to Giacomo Puccini’s aria, Nessun Dorma, for her talent.

Priyanka Ramanthan, the retiring Menomonee Falls Distinguished Young Woman of Menomonee Falls for 2018, presented the DYW Medallion to Doherty.  She was also awarded a $2000 scholarship from the Optimist Club, jewelry from William Nordstrom Jewelers, and a 90 Day membership to the Wisconsin Athletic Club. In addition to the title, Kailee was the winner of preliminary award in Talent.

Jackie Plantier was named 1st Alternate. Jackie will receive a $750 scholarship from the Optimist Club and $300 cash award from Community League of Menomonee Falls. Jackie was also the winner of the Interview and Self-Expression Awards.

Rohitha Punathil was named 2nd Alternate. She will receive a $250 scholarship from the Optimist Club.

Becky Perez was awarded the Scholastic Award. Monica Repinski won the Fitness Award. The Be Your Best Self Essay Award went to Brinda Patel. Tia Hebbring was voted the Spirit of Distinguished Young Women winner by her fellow contestants. Each category winner will receive a $100 cash award.

Also participating were Kayla Francis, Shivani Ganesh, Madeline Labott, Hannah Lucht, Kelly Maloney, Cosette Schefelker, Megan Schmeling, and Isabella Volk.

We will be meeting with the sophomore girls who are interested in participating next year at the end of the school year. The Class of 2020 program will take place in March of 2019.




The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. For more information about Distinguished Young Women contact Cathy Sharkey at 262-844-1538 or visit www.DistinguishedYW.org.

Find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube: www.facebook.com/distinguishedyw


Distinguished Young Women National Site

Distinguished Young Women local site (Menomonee Falls)

Distinguished Young Women Chair: Cathy Sharkey

Distinguished Young Women Co-chair: Meg Latus